Reading Log: January & February 2016

61VJJDQF15L._SX335_BO1,204,203,200_January/February 2016 Reading Log

It’s been in “interesting” two months, and I can’t remember where the dividing line falls in the stack of books I’ve read since December. So, here it is: A January/February Reading Log.

  • Soulless by Gail Carriger
  • Writing Science Fiction and Fantasy: 20 Dynamic Essays by Today’s Top Professionals by the Editors of Analog and Isaac Asimov’s Science Fiction Magazine
  • Who was Edgar Allan Poe? by Jim Gigliotti
  • The Serpent’s Tale by Ariana Franklin
  • Gone Fishing: A Novel in Verse by Tamera Will Wissinger
  • The Enchanter Heir by Cinda Williams Chima
  • The Sorcerer Heir by Cinda Williams Chima
  • Sailing from Byzantium: How a Lost Empire Shaped the World by Colin Wells
  • Egg and Spoon by Gregory Maguire

Reading Reflections

I loved Franklin’s mystery set in 12th century England, and the concluding books of Chima’s Heir Chronicles, were every bit as gripping as those I’d already read.

Lastly, I found Wells’ book fascinating. Between my Greek ancestry and a novel idea I’ve got simmering on a back burner, I find this empire, that lasted more than 1,100 years, mesmerizing. This slim book expanded my knowledge about the western European renaissance, my childhood faith–Greek Orthodoxy, and the world from which generations of my Greek ancestors sprang. I look forward to learning more about it.

What about you?

Have you read any good books lately? Please share authors, titles, and genres so we can all add to our “Books I Want to Read” lists.

