Ode to the English Language: Our Wonderful Treasure Trove of Words

Wndrfl Wrds.Zn DngleWonderful Words on Words

One of the long-neglected tasks I attended to this summer was to continue organizing my huge collection of quotes. (Most just inhabit snippets of paper in a fat paper file.) As I was entering and categorizing them, I came across a series culled from an essay by Pat Conroy, “Interpreting the World Through Story,” featured in the June 2012 Writer Magazine.

This is for all you English Teachers, Writers, and Lovers of Literature

Conroy reflected on the joy of living a life centered on reading, writing, and the English language.

What richer way to meet the sunlight than bathing each day of my life in my island-born language, the one that Shakespeare breathed on, Milton wrestled with, Jane Austen tamed, and Churchill rallied the squadrons of England with? I want to use the whole English language as the centerpiece of a grand alliance or concordance with my work.

A Rich and Abundant Heritage

Our language, our words, are such a commonplace thing to us. I sometimes forget to marvel at the richness and beauty of the language I was born to speak. But as I return to school to teach reading, writing, and vocabulary to students whose exposure to the grandeur of our language has been so much more limited than my own, I am awed and humbled by the great wealth of language it is my privilege to share.

What writers have delighted you?

What words or turns of phrases set your heart afire?

2 thoughts on “Ode to the English Language: Our Wonderful Treasure Trove of Words

  1. Worry does not empty tomarrow of it’s sorrow, but empties today of it’s strength! (True, but hard for me to put into practice) Love Mom

    Like

Comments are closed.