Posted by: Debby | May 18, 2015

Play With Your Words Writing Prompt #87: Guess Your Age

bday cakeThis weekend was my birthday, and a very nice birthday it was. On Saturday, my husband and I went out to lunch with our younger son. The restaurant where we ate decorates it’s wall with plaques containing rhymes, quotes, and other thought-provoking or food-celebrating sayings.

Across from our table was a plaque that read:

  • If you didn’t know how old you are, how old would you say you are?

Hmmm? Pretty apt for a birthday lunch.

Now, I’m not going to tell you how old I am or how I’d reply, but I couldn’t help thinking that was a darn good writing prompt. How old would you say you are? Why? Write about it.

Writing fiction? Choose a character you are still trying to figure out and ask him/her the question and demand an explanation.

If you feel like sharing your responses, please reply. Maybe you will even tempt me to share my response with you!

Categories

