Posted by: Debby | April 20, 2015

April is National Poetry Month–A New Haiku

Tree BlossomNational Poetry Month Plans

Pre-concussion, I had hoped to blog new poetry forms each week in April. So much for planning!

However, I cannot let National Poetry Month pass without honoring it in some way, and so, I revisit a form well-known and well-loved (at least by me)–the Haiku.

The Wonders of Haiku

Haiku is a wonderful form for the busy writer. It is short enough that you can compose and revise it in your head while you’re washing the bathtub, exercising at the gym, commuting to work, or–oops!–hit by inspiration in the middle of your work day.

I love it for capturing moments in my life. I sometimes use it as a form of concentrated journaling.

Haiku Form 

As you probably learned by the fourth grade, Haiku is a form of Japanese poetry. It consists of 3 lines containing:

  • 1st line: 5 syllables
  • 2nd line: 7 syllables
  • 3rd line: 5 syllables

and that’s it!

What you may not know about Haiku

However, that is not all of it. Traditionally, haiku is nature themed, but as I already explained above, a writer can use it for whatever theme he or she chooses.

While the 5-7-5 pattern is pounded ruthlessly into our heads as schoolchildren, did you know it is not strictly necessary. You can very slightly from the pattern, as long as your haiku reflects the basic form.

And did you know, the third line is intended to be something special? It is a place to make the connection between ideas or to conclude or sum up your thinking.

My Haiku, April 2015

Our Apple Tree

Billowing blossoms,
Pink, aglow with sunlight,
My healing companion.

Categories

