My Plan for Getting Healthy and Staying Healthy

Framed Magenta FlowerPost-Concussion Update

I am at the end of week five of my post-concussion syndrome recovery. My headaches, while still constant, register at about a 1.5 or 2 on a 10 point scale–that is much improved. I can now read to my heart’s content (Yay!!!), as long as the reading material is not too abstract.

I am starting to feel impatient.

This week I will try writing.

Getting Healthy 

So what has got me this far? A whole new way of thinking. It came to me as a little rhyme:

Do not rush.

Do not hurry.

Bloom where you’re planted,

And do not worry.

Not terribly original, I know, but it has helped me to be patient through these long, uncomfortable, exhausting, inactive weeks.

And Staying Healthy

I’m going to take this little ditty with me as I begin to return to my everyday activities.

Looking back on the early months of the new year, I recall my discontent with myself and the way I was managing my life. There was too much to do, I was always striving, and I was overwhelmed.

Over the last decade, God has developed a pattern of forcing me to sit still when I get so driven I am making myself crazy. The little “trip” that resulted in this concussion seems to have been another such incident. (I wish I could get better at listening when he says “Slow down.”) And this time, I had to sit very still, for a long, long time.

To recover, because of the exhaustion and pain, I had to learn to move s-l-o-w-l-y. I have practiced it enough now to know rushing around just increases my stress. And as I sat still I realized, if I truly believe as I profess to, being content with where I am needs to be part of my faithful living. Furthermore, worrying cannot change anything. I need to trust my God, and I do.

What about you? Is there anything you need to adjust about your approach to daily living? What does blooming where you’re planted mean to you? Is it possible to live more slowly and turn our backs on worry?

It will be interesting to see what I can manage to hold true to as I slowly re-enter my life over the next few weeks.

