New Year’s…Goals

Weekly Goals

 

 

Happy new year–to those of you who live by the public school calendar! Today the true new year begins.

This week at the Downtown Learning Center we will be talking about goal setting. The lessons will focus on SMART goal setting, which advocates for goals that are:

  • Specific
  • Measurable
  • Achievable
  • Relevant
  • Time-bound

We’ll begin by having students set a goal for the school day. The next day we’ll have them select a goal for the week. During that week we’ll work with then to practice thinking more long-term, concluding with them setting a goal for the school year.

So, am I practicing what we’ll be teaching? Yes. You should see the daily goal lists I’ve had for myself this week. And wow, has it made a difference in how tidy my home appears. I even had a weekly goal: to have a new section of my nonfiction picture book ready for writer’s group on Saturday. I brought 6 pages for critique.

What about long-term goals? Here is my list of weekly goals for this year:

  • Bible–read 1 chapter  5 days/week
  • Writing–500 words written or revised 4 days /week (This beyond my regular Wednesday writing days.)
  • Set in Stone, my middle grade fantasy novel, sent out to a new agent or editor each week
  • The Swallow’s Spring, my retelling of the early portions of the medieval Romance of Tristan and Iseult, sent out to a new agent or editor each week
  • Walk for fitness once per week. (I know, that number sounds ridiculously low, but I have not been doing even that these last few months I’ve been battling colds.)

What about you? Do you have any goals for 2015? Just hit reply and share them. I’d be glad to cheer you on.

