Posted by: Debby | July 13, 2014

A Blissful, Summer Sunday

search

It is a blissful, Summer Sunday. I went to church last night, and so the morning has consisted of reading, writing, Bible Study, and a little puttering around the house. Thunder has been rumbling off and on for the last three hours, and cool summer air has been drifting through our windows, driving out the staleness left behind by yesterday’s heat.

What peace. There is nothing I like better than to read and write my way through a Sunday. This one in particular has even inspired a poem.

Summer Thunder

Crack! Thunder rumbles,
roils, majestic, brings ego
to its trembling knees.

And to finish the day off? We’ll go for dinner at my daughter’s house, rounding out the quiet with time spent with those I love.

What about you? What are the ingredients of your ideal Sunday?

 

Responses

  1. […] Sunday, I had nowhere I had to go and, honoring the biblical commandment to rest on the Sabbath, nothing I had to do.  It was bliss. (See Sunday’s post.) […]

    Like


Categories

