Posted by: Debby | February 6, 2014

Wonderful Words! From: Ursula Le Guin’s The Langauge of the Night Part 3

51TRh2ipMYL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_This week, I have been culling quotes from Ursula Le Guin’s The Language of the Night. Today’s post looks at the conclusion to her National Book Award Acceptance Speech for The Farthest Shore:

At this point, realism is perhaps the least adequate means of understanding or portraying the incredible realities of our existence. A scientist who creates a monster in his laboratory; a librarian in the library of Babel; a wizard unable to cast a spell; a space ship having trouble in getting to Alpha Centauri: all these may be precise and profound metaphors of the human condition. The fantasist, whether he uses the ancient archetypes of myth and legend or the younger ones of science and technology, may be talking as seriously as any sociologist–and a good deal more directly about human life as it is lived, and as it might be lived, and as it ought to be lived. For after all, as great scientists have said and as all children know, it is above all by the imagination that we achieve perception, and compassion, and hope.

This is such an important concept to remember, especially now, as our children, and grandchildren, and neighbors, and young friends enter the era of Common Core Curriculum. The role of fiction and imagination is being shrunk in the school child’s life in favor of analysis and evaluation. How are we going to make certain it does not get squeezed out entirely?

Responses

  1. Ah, sigh. There is so much emphasis on things other than the arts in schools. Thank you for championing this!

    On another note, I nominated your blog for a Liebster “Award.” (see my post: http://audreykalman.wordpress.com/2014/02/07/leaping-liebsters/). As you can tell, I’m taking it with a grain of salt, but it was a great opportunity for me to discover new blogs, which is how I found yours. Do with it what you will.

    Like

    • Thanks, Audrey. I’ve got a busy weekend ahead, but I’m going to try to carry forward with your Liebster effort. I tend to find myself overburdened by rules so I’m doubly grateful for the way you made your post your own.

      Like

      • Well, there are far too many rules in the world as it is. I didn’t want to add to them!

        Like


Categories

