Posted by: Debby | September 26, 2012

Some Thoughts on the “Best Book of the Month” Posts

Each month as I select a “best book” I am aware that the audience for this blog is a mixed one:

  • teachers of language arts educating students starting as young as preschool age on up to adult education and college age students
  • parents whose children range in age from preschool through high school
  • adult and young adult writers of fiction.

As a result, in spite of the title of every first Wednesday post (“Best Book of the Month”), I am often tempted to select a title that might be most useful or acceptable to any one of the constituencies for whom I blog. But I don’t.

So, from one month to the next you’ve seen novels and nonfiction ranging from young adult fantasies, to adult mysteries, to books on writing, and other genres and age ranges.

As an educator, however, I am aware of how important it is to select reading material that is highly attuned to the interests and needs of a particular class. When I taught, I read aloud to my classes at least twice a week and each class had its own unique book that seemed best suited to its particular mix of individuals. (By the way, these were our favorite parts of the learning day, both the students’ and mine—there is a lot of bonding that can take place in the process of sharing a story.)

In light of my own experience, my concern for educators selecting books for students,  and my desire to be of assistance to all my readers, starting in October, I will begin to provide the age range of each book I select for best book.  (However, don’t let this limit you in your own literary explorations—I found most of my favorite children’s books after I graduated from high school.)

Happy reading! (I think I already know what book will be this month’s favorite, unless I read something truly phenomenal in the next few days!)

And please, tell me what you need as a Literate Lives reader, and let me know if you are a teacher, parent, writer, or any combination of the three!

Categories

