Best Book(s) of March

At last! My reading rate has picked up. Due to recent stressors, it had dropped off in late January. This month, however not only do I have a selection of books to choose from I want to talk about a few of them.

First, the best read of March goes to Liz Curtis Higgs’ novels Here Burns my Candle, and Mine is the Night. They are companion novels and the second book picked up so closely to where the last left off, they were like reading a single continuous story, an excellent continuous story. Set in Scotland during the time of Bonny Prince Charley’s uprising of 1745, it focuses on a Scottish family and all they go through as a result. These books kept me up way too late reading many a night until I finished them.

In addition to Higgs, I read a YA novel by Veronica Bennett titled AngelMonster. It is a re-imagining of the romance and marriage of Mary Shelley and Percy Bysshe Shelley. The novel was gripping. It traced not only the course of their relationship but the imagined roots of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein. It is important to note that this book is not a biography—although it concerns me that young readers might consider it as such, in spite of the Author’s Note at the end. Bennett bases the novel on the major events of the Shelleys’ lives together, but tells it in first person, in Mary’s voice and creates a fictional version of her inner life. In addition, although stating that she wanted the novel to highlight the literary achievement of young Mary, the novel delays the completion of Frankenstein until after Percy’s death. Laying these concerns aside, however, I must say it was a fascinating read and I would recommend it for both older teens and adults.

What have you been reading this month?

