Posted by: Debby | January 25, 2012

Happy Birthday to Robert Burns

Whether you call him Rabbie Burns, the Ploughman Poet, Robden of Solway Firth, the Bard of Ayrshire, or simply The Bard, Robert Burns ranks among the most beloved poets of Scotland. Born in 1759, he was one of the best known poets to write in both English and the Scots language and was regarded as a pioneer of the Romantic movement in literature. To me, however, he is simply the author of A Red, Red Rose.

O, my luve is like a red, red rose,
that’s newly sprung in June:
O, my luve is like the melodie
That’s sweetly played in tune.

As fair art thou, my bonnie lass,
So deep in luve am I;
And I will luve thee still, my dear,
Till a’ the seas gang dry.

Till a’ the seas gang dry, my dear
And the rocks melt wi’ the sun;
And I will luve thee still, my dear,
While the sands o’ life shall run.

And fare thee well, my only luve!
And fare thee well awhile!
And I will come again, my luve,
Tho’ it were ten thousand mile!

Sigh. I got shivers just typing in the text. Happy Birthday, Mr. Burns and thank you for your beautiful words.

Do you have a favorite Robert Burns poem? Paste it here as a comment.

Categories

