Love is the Gift: Santa’s Favorite Story/Play With Your Words Writing Prompt #47

To Think About

In Santa’s Favorite Story, by Hisako Aoki, Santa tells the forest animals about the first Christmas, “when the Christ child came.” He tells the animals, “It is my favorite story because it reminds me why we are so happy at this time of year. Love was the gift God gave to us on the first Christmas, and it still is, you know. And this love is far better than any presents I can ever deliver.”

This is my favorite children’s Christmas picture book. I gave each of my children a copy as a gift, and now I’m hunting down copies for my granddaughters.

What do you think about the Santa in this story and what he said? What are your thoughts and feelings regarding Christmas, gifts, and love?

Write

Write a few paragraphs or a short essay sharing your thoughts on this quote or these topics.

Share

When done, share what you’ve written with your writing partners. Compliment one another on the clarity, strength, and fluidity of your writing. Please feel free to share as comment.

