My Favorite Book for May

Wow! This month included a lot of great reading. It’s hard to pick out just one favorite book for the month. Here’s the contenders:

I really enjoyed each of these, a lot!

However, as this regular feature is entitled “Favorite Book of the Month,” I need to narrow the final five to just one. So, my favorite book for the month of May was:

*

    *

        *

    *

*

    *

        *

    *

Alison Croggon’s The Naming.

This was an outstanding fantasy novel. The world was rich and detailed. Croggon’s characters were people I cared about. Their situation grew from dire to worse. Circumstances caused me to wonder who the characters could really trust. And there was a powerful sense of love, compassion, and wonder threaded through the story. This is the first installment of the Book of Pellinor series. You can bet I’m hunting down those sequels right now!

