The Long Train Ride

I am writing from my Mom’s kitchen table. I should be en route home when this post appears. I’ll be taking the train overnight, leaving from Modesto, CA at 11:00 P.M. and arriving home Wednesday at 4:00 P.M. There will be a two-hour layover in Sacramento from 12:30 until 2:30 AM.

Sound grueling? Yeah, I know. But do you know what? I’m looking forward to it.

I adore family vacations, and a road trip with my husband can’t be beat. But there is a certain alure to traveling alone. All that time, all to oneself.  It’s just not convenient, or expected that I should work, so I feel free to do whatever quiet activity I’d like. I’m a quiet person. I love quiet activities. I’m looking forward to my long train ride.

So what will I do? I’m bringing three books (one I’m nearly done with, one short one that comes next on my reading rotation, and a longer book that’s next  just in case I finish the first two). I’ve also got magazines: a news magazine, a women’s magazine, and two writing magazines. In addition I’ve packed a spiral notebook and pen. While here at Mom’s I finally found the story to go with a scene I came up with during a free-write at a writer’s conference. The scene just wouldn’t go away but finding a setting and story that works to go with it has long eluded me. So I’ll probably jot some notes on the trip. Maybe I’ll even start writing the story. There’s so many possibilities for enjoying activities I love!

And then, I’ll be home!

What would you do on a seventeen hour train ride?

Better yet, what kind of short story can you launch from a seventeen hour train ride? The working title for mine is The Magic Tea Bag. Hmm. Now what kind of story could you write that combines a train trip and a magic tea bag? Tell me about it. I’d love to hear from you.

