Posted by: Debby | January 12, 2011

Elizabeth Goudge Treasure Trove

Oh, my goodness! I thought I’d died and gone to heaven when I found all the web information on Elizabeth Goudge for my December 15 post. She has been one of my favorite authors for most of my adult life. Her novels and her characters are companions when my heart is heavy or I am feeling lonely. I’ve spent years tracking her books down. (There remain a few I need to find.) And then I found such a treasure trove on-line.

I loved this colored photo of her. I’ve seen numerous black and white photos. In them she looks so delicate and ladylike. However, this one made her look like someone I could imagine sitting across my dining room table with me. With her rosy cheeks and silvery hair, she looks so kind and real.

I enjoyed the short biography of her on the Elizabeth Goudge Society Website . I have read her autobiography, but like a true fan, I can never find enough about her.

And do you know there was a biography published about her? It’s called The World of Elizabeth Goudge, and was written by Sylvia Gower. Believe me, it went on my Christmas wish list. I didn’t get it :-(  However, I checked on-line and it seems pretty difficult to get one’s hands on. Maybe I’ll put in a request for it at the library. Then I’ll at least get to read it.

What author is your companion and friend?

Categories

