Posted by: Debby | December 29, 2010

My Favorite Books for December

Here we are—the end of a month and the end of a year. Today, however, we will just think short-term. What is your favorite book you read this month? What is your child’s favorite for December? Is your child old enough to write? Invite him or her write his or her own recommendation for the blog.

I have three categories of favorites this month:

  • a novel
  • a picture book
  • a devotional

My favorite novel this month is The Thirteenth Tale, by Diane Setterfield. It is about a young woman, a survivor twin, whose life has been spent in her dad’s antiquarian book store. Although she considers writing biographies a hobby, she is invited by a terminally ill, best-selling author to write the author’s biography. This author has long been known for her reclusive lifestyle and the lies she makes up when interviewers ask her about her life. Who would have guessed the truth could be stranger than the fictions?

My favorite picture book this month is Tomie DePaola’s The Friendly Beasts. This is a book that can be sung! It is based on an old English Christmas carol and visits the night Jesus was born from the point of view of the animals who shared the stable. I always loved singing it to my children. This year I bought my granddaughter a copy.

My third favorite is a devotional. I love to read Christmas related devotions during Advent. This year I did not have a book I had not read recently, so I went to my favorite used book store, Readers Guide to Recycled Literature, in Salem, Oregon. They had a sale cart of Christmas books prominently displayed and the book I bought was the only devotional amidst the lot. Thomas Kinkade’s Christ, the Light of the World, is a beautiful gem of a book, with a Kinkade painting accompanying each day’s reading. Kinkade reflects on his life and his family, faith, light, gifts, and giving. I have a bunch of sticky notes poking out marking thoughts I want to revisit before I put the book away.

Every Christmas, I put all our Christmas books underneath the Christmas tree for reading. However, in spite of this bountiful display of picture books, my three-year old granddaughter still went for Dr. Seuss’s Green Eggs and Ham every time she came over.

What was your favorite read this month?

Categories

