Posted by: Debby | December 20, 2010

Gifts of a Grandmother’s Love

I am Yea Yea, that’s Greek for grandma, to two absolutely darling little girls, ages three-years-old and seven-months-old. These precious souls are two of the major delights in my life. Just thinking about them makes me smile!

So what do I get them for Christmas?

There are three categories of gifts I deem a must.

The first is clothes. I buy each of them an outfit. These represent my commitment to my daughter and son-in-law to cherish and protect these beloved little persons. And I pray as these clothes cover their small frames, God will cover their lives with his mercy, protection, and grace.

The second category of gifts is books. I buy each granddaughter a book. As has already been long-established, I love reading, and I want to be part of making sure my little girls have plenty of opportunity to enjoy reading and books throughout their lives. Reading supports and develops not just literacy skills, but the imagination and creativity, two of the primary fuels not just for childhood pleasure, but for the science and industry that powers our economy. And, reading provides connecting points with our world, all while blessing in our lives with stories and characters to love, and information to bolster any interest or need.

The last category of gift is a toy. I get each granddaughter a toy, often something that can help them learn, grow, or develop a skill, but most important something to fuel their delight. Play and delight are intrinsic to the life well-appreciated and lived. Plus, they are essential to developing a capacity for gratitude and wonder, prime facilitators in recognizing the work of God in our lives.

So give some blessings for Christmas. Do you have no kids or grandkids of your own? Pick up a tag from one of the giving trees located in malls, stores, and businesses all over every community. I developed this three-fold strategy of giving when I was the mother of young children and shopped with them each December to provide gifts for children in need..

You don’t have to be yea yea to bless young people this holiday season.

Categories

