Posted by: Debby | November 3, 2010

NaNoReviseMo: Two Principles

It is Wednesday morning, November 3. Yes, I know you know that, yet it is significant enough that I must confess it before I write further. It is Wednesday morning, November 3, and I have not revised one word of my manuscript. Oh, I’ve been working on the novel, but not revising. Today, as soon as this post goes up I will begin.

So, what’s with the delay? As I look back on the past two days, two principles come to mind:

  1. Everything takes longer to do than you think it will.
  2. Nothing is as scary as you think it is if you’ll just use your rational, rather than your emotional, mind.

Principle 1: I thought before beginning the revisions I should update the Iseult binder. There was new information I needed to include this time around (some of which required research), name changes, character descriptions, style decisions, and a vocabulary/spelling sheet that needed updating. Piece of cake! I thought. I’ll just whip it all together Monday morning and I’m off writing. Not quite. I was still researching at 12:00 A.M Tuesday morning! However, as of 4:30 P.M. yesterday, the binder is complete (except three words I thought of this morning that I have to look up and write the precise definitions onto the vocabulary page). Today, I truly begin revising.

Principle 2 is a cheerier one. I admit, I have been intimidated by the thought of this revision ever since I committed to it. Oh my goodness! The WHOLE novel!

Tuesday, I at last looked at the manuscript to take the total page count and divide it up between the number of days I know I can work this month. What did that scary, burdensome, insurmountable challenge look like? 25 pages a day. Yes, that’s all. Doing only minor revising, I can do that in two hours. Even with scenes to add and others to flesh out, I can do that in a day!

So, yippee! I’m off and writing. This week’s goal? Pages 1-50, out of 200 total. I’m finally excited.

Gotta go!

Categories

