Happy New Year!

I don’t know about you, but for me the start of school has always been my “new year’s day.” First as a child and student, then as a teacher, as a parent, and as a teacher again, my life always begins anew when school starts.

And, as someone whose passion is to encourage literacy in the home, this September represents, as ever, a new year. Therefore, I have taken a closer look at “Literate Lives” and the rhythm of posts and prompts and worked out a calendar for the upcoming school year.

Each Sunday, I will post a reading response question that can be used with your student’s reading during the week. Reading response questions will address student understanding and evaluation of various elements of literature and if responses are written out, will provide exercise for them stating their ideas and opinions in writing.

Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays I will blog on a variety of topics centering on the development of literacy and reading and writing in the home.

On the first Wednesday of each month, instead of blogging I will post an English/Language Arts assignment. I will include instructions and criteria for completion of the assignment and a scoring guide that can be adapted to evaluate student work.

On the third Wednesday of each month, I will focus on preschool literacy.

Thursdays will continue to be “Play with Your Words!” days. The first Thursday will focus on writing poetry, and the third Thursday will feature an Art writing prompt. Other Thursdays will rotate through imaginative, expository, narrative, descriptive, and persuasive prompts—all forms of writing students are expected to master.

The last blog day of each month, as has been my practice, will be “Best Book of the Month” day. I will continue to recommend a title or two. And I hope you will too. Write about your favorite book you’ve read that month, and tell me about the favorite of any children too young to write. I’d love it if your kids who can write would recommend their own favorites. It’s a good chance for them to engage in writing that is both purposeful and persuasive, and to see their writing “published” in a public forum.

I am so excited about this upcoming year of reading and writing together. Please tell your friends about “Literate Lives” and encourage them join our community!

