A Personal Librarian

Friday was my husband’s and my ten-year wedding anniversary. Meeting and marrying David is one of the best things that ever happened in my life.

One of my joys as David’s wife is that he lets me be his librarian.

As you know, I love books. Our house is full of them, I love to shop for them, and not only do I get to shop for me, but David lets me shop for him as well!

As a result, over this decade we’ve read fantasy together (our favorite author here is Stephen Lawhead), King Arthur novels (David’s favorites were the Jack Whyte series, I can’t make up my mind, but I know T.H. White’s The Once and Future King is just a part of who I am, especially as a writer), historical fiction (we’re both crazy about the “dark ages” of early medieval Europe—particularly stories with settings in England, Scotland, or Ireland), and mysteries. David had always been a lover of Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes. Once he’d read all that Doyle wrote, I hunted down some modern takes on Holmes. We both fell in love with the Laurie King mysteries (the first one is The Beekeeper’s Apprentice. And, in keeping with our love for Medieval times, David has polished off the entire Ellis Peters Cadfael series).

It has been my joy to be his personal librarian.

Sweetie, here’s to tens and tens and tens more years of happily reading together!

