Best books of July 2010

Here we go, it’s the end of another month. So, what is the best book you read this month? It could be fiction, nonfiction…any genre. What book did you really enjoy? Or, what book made a major impact on you? Please use the comment space to share the title and author and to tell just a snippet about your book to whet our readers’ appetites.

For me, my best book for this month is one that has been most meaningful. I’ve been going through a transitional period in my life and working through a number of issues including questions of what I’ve accomplished, my value as person, and coming to terms with the good and the bad, the wise and the foolish  in my past and personality. So this month (actually this whole summer) I decided to reread the workbook to Beth Moore’s Bible Study of Isaiah, Breaking Free: The Journey, The Stories. There was a particular set of lessons, week 6, entitled “Beauty from Ashes” that I just yearned to revisit. And it was such a blessing!

Moore’s gift is to help women comprehend how precious and beloved we are to God. I tend to be the kind of person who picks on myself, and the vision these chapters give of God’s passionate love and gracious good will toward me were spring water to my thirsty heart. I am so loved, and so are you!

In the fiction arena, I’ve just begun reading Cornelia Funke’s Inkheart, and I knew from these words in “Chapter 2” that this is going to be a book I will thoroughly enjoy. Funke writes:

“Meggie took her books whenever they went away. They were her home when she was somewhere strange. They were familiar voices, friends that never quarreled with her, clever, powerful friends—daring and knowledgeable, tried and tested adventurers who had traveled far and wide. Her books cheered her up when she was sad and kept her from being bored (Funke 15-16). ”

I have not found myself bored yet, and I am up to chapter 16.

So, what is your favorite book you read this month?

One thought on “Best books of July 2010

  1. My Favorite book this month is THE FEMALE BRAIN by Louanne Brizendine. This book explains from birth through menopause the way the hormones and chemicals in a woman’s brain effect her reality and personality. I have two daughters (Gracie: 3 and Hannah: 3months) and have found so many answers to their behaviors and mine. These early postpartum months seem so confusing and this book has given me so much comfort.

    Gracie’s favorite this month is TEN LITTLE FISH by Audrey Wood. I love this one too because it has the most bright and beautiful illustrations. It is definitly worth checking out!

    Like

Comments are closed.